Andy wins, Jordy stays number 1 and Travis makes the cut in Tahiti!

by Greg 7. September 2010 09:01

Andy Irons (HAW), 32, past three-time ASP World Champion, collected his 20th elite tour victory today, besting C.J. Hobgood (USA), 31, to claim the Billabong Pro Tahiti. Credit: © ASP / ROBERTSON


One of my favorite surfers of all time Andy Irons of Hawaii has fought back from a year off tour to win the Billabong Pro Tahiti.  Andy’s year off tour took its toll as he looked like he had been left behind with his surfing at the start of the year but as the year has progressed he gradually found his form that has now taken him to king of Tahiti again. Andy, now 32 and former 3 times A.S.P. World Champion took down Floridian C.J. Hobgood in an exciting final.


It was no easy task for Andy to get back to his winning form, on his way to the final he was matched up against the likes of 9 times World Champion Kelly Slater and 2 times current world Champion Mick Fanning, so Irons had to show a lot of commitment and confidence to bounce back and take down these on form big names. Well done Andy, I look forward to see how you go the rest of the year!


Current World number 1 Jordy Smith did not have too much fortune in this event as he lost to Wild Card Manoa Drolett for a 17th Place finish. Jordy managed to hold onto number 1 spot but only just as he is currently on 30 250 points to World number 2 Kelly Slater on 30 000 points. World number 3 Taj Burrow had a shocker event finishing 33rd leaving a 5000 gap between him and Jordy on 25 250 points!


Travis Logie did extremely well to take down Australian Charger Kieren Perrow in the 33rd Round but lost to Fred Patachia of Hawaii leaving Travis in 17th Position. This was however enough to keep him in the top 32 and make the mid year cut off at 29th place. Well Done Travis!


A huge well done must go out to our South African Masters team who finished runner up in the World Masters Games in Panama. The team came agonisingly close to winning the event and were just piped on points by Australia. Congratulations to Andrew Banks, Heather Clark and Chris Knutsen who won their respective divisions!


In closing go and check out some perfect mad tube rides at the infamous Deadmans Reef at:


Greg Emslie


Powered by BlogEngine.NET